Default
Door Remote - 02 Sep 2026
Today in crypto, Bitcoin exchange-traded funds capped their best month of 2026 with $3.5 billion in inflows for August. Core DAO coordinated an emergency hard fork after validators claimed more CORE rewards than the blockchain intended to issue, while 21 major financial institutions, including Bank of America, Citi and Goldman Sachs, unveiled plans for a stablecoin venture targeting a 2027 launch.
Bitcoin ETFs notch best month of 2026 as BTC gains 25% in AugustUS-listed spot Bitcoin exchange-traded funds (ETFs) capped their best month of 2026 alongside Bitcoin’s biggest monthly gain since November 2024.
Bitcoin ETFs attracted $3.52 billion in net inflows in August, their highest monthly total of 2026 and a sharp increase from just $172 million in inflows in July, according to SoSoValue data.
Bitcoin (BTC) gained about 25% in August, its strongest monthly performance since a 37.29% rally in November 2024, according to CoinGlass.
The August momentum quickly gave way to a weaker start to September, as ETF flows turned negative and Bitcoin briefly fell below $77,000.
Core DAO plans emergency hard fork after validators drew excess rewardsIn an update, Core said the incident had been contained and that “malicious validators” could no longer draw excess rewards. It said the fork would be a forward upgrade and would not roll back the network or reverse any previously confirmed transactions.
This followed an earlier status update on Monday, in which Core said a small number of validators had accrued rewards significantly above the protocol’s intended issuance. It said the incident was limited to reward issuance and that user assets remained safe, adding that it would publish a technical postmortem.
Several exchanges restricted CORE transfers around the time of the incident. Coinbase paused sends and receives on the Core network, while Bithumb and Coinone suspended deposits and withdrawals, citing suspected or confirmed security concerns.
Bitget also suspended CORE deposits and withdrawals, citing wallet maintenance, while LBank suspended deposits because of what it described as the project’s requirements.
Core has not disclosed how much CORE was issued, how long the activity continued, or whether any of the additional tokens entered circulation. It also has not explained the vulnerability that enabled the validators to obtain the rewards. However, Core said it would publish a technical postmortem.
Cointelegraph contacted Core for further information but had not received a response by publication.
BofA, Citi, Goldman Sachs ioin 21-institution stablecoin ventureA consortium of 21 major financial institutions, including Bank of America, Citi and Goldman Sachs, plans to form a company that will issue a US dollar-denominated stablecoin in the first half of 2027.
The group also includes Deutsche Bank, UBS, Santander, MUFG and Fidelity Investments. Its planned stablecoin will serve wholesale, institutional and retail markets, with potential uses including cross-border payments and digital asset settlement.
After launching the dollar token, the consortium intends to expand into other G7 currencies, starting with a euro-denominated stablecoin. The project is expected to comply with the US GENIUS Act and the European Union’s Markets in Crypto-Assets Regulation where applicable.
The venture expands an initiative announced in October 2025 by 10 banks exploring reserve-backed digital money on public blockchains. The consortium has since more than doubled in size.
The project reflects growing institutional adoption of stablecoins as regulatory frameworks become clearer. Societe Generale and Fidelity have already issued dollar-denominated stablecoins, while Standard Chartered recently backed a Hong Kong dollar stablecoin venture.
Bitcoin ETFs notch best month of 2026 as BTC gains 25% in AugustUS-listed spot Bitcoin exchange-traded funds (ETFs) capped their best month of 2026 alongside Bitcoin’s biggest monthly gain since November 2024.
Bitcoin ETFs attracted $3.52 billion in net inflows in August, their highest monthly total of 2026 and a sharp increase from just $172 million in inflows in July, according to SoSoValue data.
Bitcoin (BTC) gained about 25% in August, its strongest monthly performance since a 37.29% rally in November 2024, according to CoinGlass.
The August momentum quickly gave way to a weaker start to September, as ETF flows turned negative and Bitcoin briefly fell below $77,000.
Core DAO plans emergency hard fork after validators drew excess rewardsIn an update, Core said the incident had been contained and that “malicious validators” could no longer draw excess rewards. It said the fork would be a forward upgrade and would not roll back the network or reverse any previously confirmed transactions.
This followed an earlier status update on Monday, in which Core said a small number of validators had accrued rewards significantly above the protocol’s intended issuance. It said the incident was limited to reward issuance and that user assets remained safe, adding that it would publish a technical postmortem.
Several exchanges restricted CORE transfers around the time of the incident. Coinbase paused sends and receives on the Core network, while Bithumb and Coinone suspended deposits and withdrawals, citing suspected or confirmed security concerns.
Bitget also suspended CORE deposits and withdrawals, citing wallet maintenance, while LBank suspended deposits because of what it described as the project’s requirements.
Core has not disclosed how much CORE was issued, how long the activity continued, or whether any of the additional tokens entered circulation. It also has not explained the vulnerability that enabled the validators to obtain the rewards. However, Core said it would publish a technical postmortem.
Cointelegraph contacted Core for further information but had not received a response by publication.
BofA, Citi, Goldman Sachs ioin 21-institution stablecoin ventureA consortium of 21 major financial institutions, including Bank of America, Citi and Goldman Sachs, plans to form a company that will issue a US dollar-denominated stablecoin in the first half of 2027.
The group also includes Deutsche Bank, UBS, Santander, MUFG and Fidelity Investments. Its planned stablecoin will serve wholesale, institutional and retail markets, with potential uses including cross-border payments and digital asset settlement.
After launching the dollar token, the consortium intends to expand into other G7 currencies, starting with a euro-denominated stablecoin. The project is expected to comply with the US GENIUS Act and the European Union’s Markets in Crypto-Assets Regulation where applicable.
The venture expands an initiative announced in October 2025 by 10 banks exploring reserve-backed digital money on public blockchains. The consortium has since more than doubled in size.
The project reflects growing institutional adoption of stablecoins as regulatory frameworks become clearer. Societe Generale and Fidelity have already issued dollar-denominated stablecoins, while Standard Chartered recently backed a Hong Kong dollar stablecoin venture.

